Vehicle graphics are a terrific way to maximize your advertising dollars while adding to your marketing mix. When compared with traditional media channels, vehicle wrapping offers an unparalleled value. According to the Transportation Advertising Council, a division of the OAAA, vehicle advertising generates between 30,000-70,000 vehicular impressions per day. Yes, per day!
Whether you maintain an entire fleet of vehicles, or just a single auto, vehicle graphics offer a tremendous value and great return on your initial investment.
This is an exceptional and cost effective way to add to your marketing mix. During an economic downturn, maintaining a consistent presence in front of consumers is as important as ever. It is this brand awareness and recall that plays such a critical role for consumers when they are ready to spend their hard earned dollars, euros, yen, pesos, schillings, or clams.
Cost Per Impression
As LeVar Burton said in the Reading Rainbow episodes I watched as a child, "You don’t have to take my word for it". There have been extensive case studies highlighting the value and effectiveness of vehicle-based advertising. When comparing average CPM (cost per 1000 impressions), vehicle graphics offer a significant cost advantage and reach over traditional media outlets. According to a recent study by the Outdoor Advertising Association of America:
- Vehicle Graphics cost approximately .80 cents - $1.30 CPM.
- In the top 100 Television Markets, a 30 second Prime time spot = $17.78 CPM
- In the top 100 Newspaper Markets a one third page b/w ad = $22.95 CPM
- In 23 Magazine Publications a four-color, one-page ad = $9.35 CPM
- In the top 100 Radio Markets, a 60-second drive-time ad = $8.61 CPM
- The average for all forms of Billboard ads = $2.18 CPM
Remember, it's not the product you sell to your customer; it's the features and benefits. In this case, you're not selling a vehicle wrap; you're selling 30-70 thousand daily consumer impressions (assuming your customer isn’t driving around in the woods). You don’t sell advertising; you sell consistent brand exposure, allowing your customer to best represent their identity.
Low entry cost for full wrap. Typical cargo van = $3,000 to $4,000
Vehicle wrap owners typically get three years out of their wrap.
This breaks down to approximately $83 to $111 per month.
30,000 impressions/day = 7.2 mil imp/yr = 21.6 mil imp/3yr = $.0019 per impression (based on 5 day work week, 48 working weeks annually)
$.0019 is about $.02 per 10 impressions over the course of three years