GAERF Announces Winners of 2013 Design Competition

The Graphic Arts Education and Research Foundation (GAERF) announced the winners of its 2013 Student Design Competition. This fifth annual contest, themed “Forever Print”, challenged secondary and post-secondary students to design and create a printed product that demonstrates that information is best conveyed in print—even though we live in a “digital age.”

From among the 133 entries, six winners were chosen; three at the secondary school level and three at the post-secondary school level.

Secondary school level winners are:

1st Place: Krista Sanders, Monroe Technology Center, Leesburg, VA (Instructor: Pamela Smith)

2nd Place: Ashley Farias, Diman Regional Vocational Technical High School, Fall River, MA (Instructor: Siobhan Santos)

3rd Place: Coral Peters, Diman Regional Vocational Technical High School, Fall River, MA (Instructor: Siobhan Santos)

Winners at the post-secondary school level are:

1st Place: Deborah Jones, Wright State University, Lake Campus, Celina, OH (Instructor: Teresa Richter)

2nd Place: Desiree Sullivan, Saddleback College, Mission Viejo, CA (Instructor: Steven Gonsowski)

3rd Place: Kalen Blackburn, Saddleback College, Mission Viejo, CA (Instructor: William Baldwin)

First place winners and their instructors received a two-day, all expense paid trip to attend PRINT 13. In addition, student winners will be presented with $2,000 checks during Career Awareness Day on Thursday. Second place winners are awarded $1,500, and third place winners receive $1,000.

“GAERF is proud to continue its commitment to supporting education initiatives by encouraging creativity and self-expression in students through the art of design and production,” says GAERF President Ralph Nappi. “The GAERF 2013 Student Design Competition has served to recognize our best and brightest students, as well as the commitment of their instructors.”

All student entries are featured in a display (Booth 5750) within Education Main Street, and accessed through the GAERF website ( and the graphicCOMMcentral website (