IDEAlliance Announces Call for Nominations for 2012 Industry Vision & Association Service Awards

The IDEAlliance Board of Directors is seeking nominations for its Industry Vision and Association Service Awards for 2012. The Awards will be presented at the IDEAlliance Primex Summit in February 2012. Deadline for nominations is December 23, 2011.

Please provide name, title, and company of an individual you would nominate to: Georgia Volakis,

The IDEAlliance Board of Directors will make the final determination on the Award recipients. If you have any questions please contact David Steinhardt at or 703.837.1066.

David Jensen Vision Award, Honoring Industry Vision, Open to Members & Non-members of IDEAlliance

The David Jensen Award is the highest honor given by IDEAlliance and recognizes those who exhibit extraordinary dedication to and vision for the future of our industry. It is given in honor of David Jensen, Senior Vice President of Manufacturing at McGraw-Hill and an IDEAlliance (formerly the Graphic Communications Association) Chairman in the 1970’s, who was said “to have a vision beyond himself and an ability to promote change for the betterment of the industry. When he died in 1983, the David Jensen Award was founded in his name to honor those who inspired the industry to meet new media challenges.

The inscription on the Award describes its intent:

For belief in something more important than ourselves.


2011    Bob Childs, Phototype

2009    Joel Quadracci, Quad/Graphics, Inc.

2005    Anthony R. Romano, Hachette Filipacchi Media U.S., Inc.

2002    Diane Romano, AGT/Seven

1998    Barry Meinerth, Time Inc.

1995    J. Lawrence Cox, PennWell Printing Company

1992    Wallace Stettinius, Cadmus Communications Corporation

1991    Angelo Rivello, Newsweek

1986    Lawrence A. Wilson, S.D. Warren Co.

1985    Howard D. Sullivan, Judd’s, Incorporated

1984    Roger Dickeson, Rumford Press

Leonard Holzinger Service Award, Honoring Association Service, Only Open to Members of IDEAlliance

The Leonard Holzinger Award is given for exemplary service to IDEAlliance. The Award was established in 1985 by IPA (now IDEAlliance) and named for Leonard Holzinger, founder of Photo Mechanical Services, Inc., and a nationally recognized leader in the graphic arts industry until his passing in 1995. In 1985, Holzinger served as the inspiration for and as the first recipient of the Leonard Holzinger Award, an award to be given to individuals willing to share their time and expertise to the Association to promote advancement in the graphic communications industry. Len Holzinger was a model member, actively seeking ways to volunteer – serving on the Board of Directors, technical and membership committees. He encouraged his competitors to join the association because membership made them all stronger. The Award recognized his openness and willingness to share his experience and knowledge through his service to the Association.

The inscription on the Award reads:

For knowledge, time and energy vigorously given to the

Association and its Members.


2006    Alan Shapiro, LAgraphico

2004    Kenneth Lowden, DuPont

2003    Clarence Schawk, Schawk, Inc.

2002    Larry Warter, Fuji Photo Film U.S.A.

2000    Jeffrey Borneman, Colorhouse

1996    Lowell Carlson, Quantech

1992    Frankland L. Cutshall, JPP Graphic Arts Center

1991    William Mullins, Capitol Engraving Company

1991    Paul Hanson, Hanson Graphics

1989    Dr. S. Thomas Dunn, Dunn Technology

1988    Joel Rubin, Phototype Color

1987    Mario Gambaccini, Master Eagle

1986    Robert S. Swan, Swan Engraving

1985    Leonard Holzinger, Photo Mechanical Services, Inc.