NPTA (National Paper Trade Association )

Announcing NPTA Alliance's 2012 PAPER Foundation Scholarship Recipients

NPTA Alliance, the leading paper distribution organization in North America, is pleased to announce its 2012 Paper and Plastics Education Research (PAPER) Foundation scholarship recipients.

The PAPER Foundation awarded $20,000 to 20 high school seniors entering a four-year college in 2012 and undergraduate students currently enrolled in college. Scholarships and winners include:

Stanley O. Styles (SOS) Industry Excellence Award

These scholarships are awarded in the name of Edward H. Kniep, III, Chairman of the Board of Shaughnessy Kniep Hawe Paper Co. Kniep was the 2012 recipient of the Stanley O. Styles Industry Excellence Award.

• Iris Alford, New Page

• Danielle Ammel, Escanaba Paper  (NewPage)

• Cameron Anderson, New Page

• Maxwell Ayres, New Page

• Ryan Bowen, Boise Paper

• Nolan Brelsford, New Page

• Jill DeJames, Ariva Paper

• Connor Greenland, Appleton Papers (Appleton)

• Tarah Hicks, New Page

• Jessica Higginbotham, Boise Inc.

• McKenzie Pierce, Domtar

• Erin Thomas, Bradner Smith

• Sally White, International Paper

• Aleena Wilson, Boise Cascade

Paper and Plastics Education Research (PAPER) Foundation General Scholarship

The PAPER Foundation Scholarship Program was established to reward academic excellence and to financially assist children and grandchildren of current employees of member companies of the NPTA Alliance.

• Samantha Bruce, New Page Corporation

• Kyra Marks, Central Michigan Paper

• Sarah Nicols, New Page

• Chanin Smith, Boise Paper

• Carly Tschanz, Appleton Papers (Appleton)

Named Scholarships

In an effort to raise additional funds for the scholarship program, the PAPER Foundation established the Named Scholarship program, allowing companies to make a donation of $1,000 for a named scholarship.

• Neenah Paper

Julia Rogers, Mac Papers 

"The NPTA Alliance is proud to support the PAPER Foundation and the Foundation's scholarship program," said Kevin Gammonley, CEO, NPTA Alliance. "It is important to invest in our future by providing financial assistance to deserving children and grandchildren of NPTA member companies' employees."

NPTA congratulates all award winners and thanks everyone who applied. NPTA also thanks the following companies that contributed funds to the scholarship program, either by dues donations or direct donations.

AIPPM, Mac Papers, Associated Paper and Supply of Florida, Midland Paper, Packaging and Supplies, Boise Inc., Mohawk Fine Paper, Burgo North America, Monadnock Paper Mills, Carolina Tape & Supply, Neenah Paper, Central Michigan Paper, Nekoosa Coated Products, Central National-Gottesman, NewPage Corporation, Clampitt Paper Co. Dallas, Olmsted-Kirk Paper Company, Domtar Paper Corporation,         Proveedora Papelera, Gould Paper Corporation, Sappi Fine Paper, GPA Specialty Printable Substrates, Shaughnessy, Gruppo Cordenons Inc., Simon Miller Paper & Packaging, Keldon Paper Co., Verso Paper, Lecta North America